Skip to main content

Legislative Updates

Quick Links


Background

The Oklahoma Legislature’s annual regular session is February through May. The Legislature considers thousands of bills during each session, some of which are relevant to OMMA. Bills are considered first in legislative committees that vote on which bills to send for consideration by the full state House of Representatives and Senate.

Bills approved by both the House and Senate go to the Governor for consideration. If the Governor signs (or declines to veto) a bill, it becomes state law. If the Governor vetoes a bill, it does not become state law unless the Legislature overrides the veto.

OMMA then uses the process of drafting rules to comply with these new state laws. Our current rules are listed on our rules page.

OMMA Deputy Director Barrett Brown explains the legislative process in an episode of High Points.


New State Laws (2022)

The Oklahoma Legislature passed, and the Governor signed, the following legislation from the 2022 regular session: 

  • HB 2179: Creates a tiered commercial grower fee structure based on size and type of facility — annual fees would range from the current $2,500 to more than $50,000. Under the terms of the bill, processor license fees will be determined by volume and range from $2,500 to $40,000. Dispensaries will pay $2,500 to $10,000, based on annual sales. Testing laboratories will pay a flat $20,000. Effective June 1, 2023. Authored by Rep. Fetgatter. (Also listed in the Licensing section.)
  • HB 3019: Adjusts packaging standards to allow clear packaging, but requiring opaque exit packaging for carrying out of the dispensary. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. Authored by Rep. Fetgatter.
  • HB 3208: Places a moratorium on new business licenses between Aug. 26, 2022, and Aug. 1, 2024. Effective Aug. 26, 2022. Authored by Rep. Cornwell.
  • HB 3319: Allows the boards of nursing, osteopathic examiners, and medical licensure and supervision to grant a health care provider a temporary license when an emergency has been declared by certain entities. Effective July 1, 2022. Authored by Rep. Miller.
  • HB 3530: Directs OMMA to establish programs and provide funding to support county sheriff enforcement of medical marijuana laws and regulations. Effective July 1, 2022. Authored by Rep. D. Hardin and Sen. Weaver.
  • HB 3929: By Jan. 1, 2024, OMMA must promulgate rules to create a process validation program in which licensees may voluntarily participate. Effective immediately. Authored by Rep. Pfeiffer.
  • HB 3971: By Jan. 1, 2024, OMMA must create a “secret shopper” program by rule promulgation to purchase medical marijuana in dispensaries and send samples for testing. Effective Jan. 1, 2024. Authored by Rep. Burns.
  • HB 4056: Directs the OMMA's contract laboratory to provide recommendations for brands and models of equipment and standards to be used by testing laboratories. Effective immediately. Authored by Rep. Marti.
  • SB 1367: Enhances penalties for the unlawful diversion of medical marijuana products to someone not legally allowed to acquire or consume them. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. Authored by Sen. Paxton.
  • SB 1511: Imposes certain restrictions on the location of commercial grower operations. Effective immediately. Authored by Sen. Rosino and Rep. Pfeiffer.
  • SB 1543: Establishes the OMMA independent from OSDH. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. Authored by Sen. Treat
  • SB 1704: Requires all employees of medical marijuana businesses to apply for a badge/credential beginning Jan. 1, 2024, and allows OMMA to contract with a third party to provide those services. Effective Nov. 1, 2022.
  • SB 1726: Includes commercial grow operations in restrictions on the establishment of medical marijuana business infrastructure near schools and includes technology centers. Effective immediately. Authored by Sen. Leewright.
  • SB 1737: Outdoor growers must register as a sensitive crop, and all commercial growers must post signage at the perimeter of the property. The sign must be at least 18 inches by 24 inches, have a standardized black font at least 2 inches tall on a white background, and include the business name, physical address of the licensed business, phone number of the licensed business and the OMMA business license number. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. Authored by Sen. Stephens.

All Medical Marijuana Legislation (2022)

Oklahoma legislators authored the following medical marijuana-related bills for consideration during the 2022 regular session that ended in May. The sheer number of bills and amendments during the legislative process means there may also be other bills affecting the industry that are not on this list.

The list is for informational purposes only – it’s not an indication that OMMA supports or opposes any of the bills or their contents.

For convenience, the bills are grouped by the main subject area affected by the proposed legislation.

HB 2012: Creates the Oklahoma Marijuana Act of 2021, by Rep. Townley and Sen. Weaver. (Also listed in the Dispensaries section.) DORMANT

HB 2179: Creates a tiered commercial grower fee structure based on size and type of facility — annual fees would range from the current $2,500 to more than $50,000. Under the terms of the bill, processor license fees will be determined by volume and range from $2,500 to $40,000. Dispensaries will pay $2,500 to $10,000, based on annual sales. Testing laboratories will pay a flat $20,000. Effective June 1, 2023. Authored by Rep. Fetgatter. (Also listed in the Licensing section.) SIGNED

HB 2989: Requires anyone seeking to obtain a commercial grower license to be approved by a public vote in the county or counties where the facility is located, authored by Rep. Russ. DORMANT

HB 3461: Prohibits commercial grow operations near places of worship, schools or childcare centers, authored by Rep. Grego. DORMANT

HB 3827: Requires commercial growers to register as an environmentally sensitive crop owner, authored by Rep. Newton. DID NOT PASS

HB 3891: Requires commercial grow operations to be at least 1,000 feet away from any public school, authored by Rep. Townley. DID NOT PASS

HB 4416: Directs commercial growers to annually submit certain information to the OMMA, authored by Rep. D. Lowe. DORMANT

HB 4432: Requires commercial growers to display outdoor signage, authored by Rep. Patzkowsky. DORMANT

SB 1511: Imposes certain restrictions on the location of commercial grower operations, authored by Sen. Rosino and Rep. Pfeiffer. SIGNED

SB 1697: Requires commercial growers to acquire a bond of at least $25,000 for each license held, authored by Sen. Jech. DID NOT PASS

SB 1718: Places a freeze on all new commercial grower licenses until the OMMA conducts an inspection and financial audit of existing licensees, authored by Sen. Merrick. DORMANT

SB 1726: Includes commercial grow operations in restrictions on the establishment of medical marijuana business infrastructure near schools and includes technology centers, authored by Sen. Leewright. SIGNED

SB 1737: Outdoor growers must register as a sensitive crop, and all commercial growers must post signage at the perimeter of the property with specific information. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. Authored by Sen. Stephens. SIGNED

SB 1747: Establishes standards for determining the value of damaged or destroyed marijuana plants, and provides liability protections to aerial applicators against claims by indoor grow operations, and directs the OMMA to track plant value, authored by Sen. Murdock. DORMANT

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

 

HB 1960: Authorizes dispensaries to deliver to patients at certain private residences, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. (Also listed in the Patients and Enforcement sections.) DORMANT

HB 2012: Creates the Oklahoma Marijuana Act of 2021, by Rep. Townley and Sen. Weaver. (Also listed in the Growers section.) DORMANT

HB 2216: Directs OMMA to help dispensaries identify out-of-state medical marijuana patient licenses or certifications, and allows the dispensaries to sell products to those patients, authored by Rep. McDugle. (Also listed in the Licensing section.) DORMANT

HB 2659: Adjusts provisions related to transport of plants and products, and allows dispensary-to-dispensary sales, authored by Rep. Echols and Sen. Taylor. DORMANT

HB 2763: Allows dispensaries to operate drive-thru lanes, authored by Rep. Ford. DORMANT

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 2660: Establishes regulations for non-volatile and volatile processor licenses, authored by Rep. Echols. (Also listed in the Licensing section.) DORMANT

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 3971: By Jan. 1, 2024, OMMA must create a “secret shopper” program by rule promulgation to purchase medical marijuana in dispensaries and send samples for testing, authored by Rep. Burns. (Also listed in Enforcement section.) SIGNED

HB 3999: Prohibits testing laboratories from accepting samples directly from growers, authored by Rep. Dobrinski. DORMANT

HB 4056: Directs the OMMA's contract laboratory to provide recommendations for brands and models of equipment and standards to be used by testing laboratories, authored by Rep. Marti. SIGNED

SB 174: Establishes educational and experience requirements for testing laboratory directors, authored by Sen. Rader. DORMANT

SB 680: Creates the Medical Marijuana and Patient Protection Act, which prohibits the transfer, selling or processing of any marijuana product or waste which hasn’t met all testing requirements, authored by Sen. Daniels and Rep. Marti. DORMANT

SB 1847: Establishes a system for businesses to undergo voluntary process validation to reduce required testing standards, authored by Sen. Rogers. DORMANT

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 2022: Removes provisions related to temporary patient licenses, and provides standards for nonresident patient licenses including a requirement for an Oklahoma physician to sign the application, authored by Rep. Fetgatter and Sen. Leewright. DORMANT

HB 2179: Creates a tiered commercial grower fee structure based on size and type of facility — annual fees would range from the current $2,500 to more than $50,000. Under the terms of the bill, processor license fees will be determined by volume and range from $2,500 to $40,000. Dispensaries will pay $2,500 to $10,000, based on annual sales. Testing laboratories will pay a flat $20,000. Effective June 1, 2023. (Also listed in the Growers section.) SIGNED

HB 2216: Directs OMMA to help dispensaries identify out-of-state medical marijuana patient licenses or certifications, and allows the dispensaries to sell products to those patients, authored by Rep. McDugle. (Also listed in the Dispensaries section.) DORMANT

HB 2244: Allows patient licenses to be issued to firefighters, authored by Rep. May. (Also listed in the Patients section.) DORMANT

HB 2482: Allows elected officials on municipal governing bodies to own and operate medical marijuana businesses, but requires them to recuse themselves from related votes and actions, authored by Rep. McBride. DORMANT

HB 2660: Establishes regulations for non-volatile and volatile processor licenses, authored by Rep. Echols. (Also listed in the Processors section.) DORMANT

HB 3208: Places a moratorium on new business licenses between Aug. 26, 2022, and Aug. 1, 2024, authored by Rep. Cornwell. (Also listed in the OMMA section.) SIGNED

HB 3634: Establishes a wholesaler license, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. DID NOT PASS

HB 3726: Creates the Oklahoma Cap on Medical Marijuana Businesses Act of 2022, providing a limit on business licenses with an eventual target number of 2,000, with a lottery to determine licensing, authored by Rep. J. West. DORMANT

HB 3727: Directs OMMA to place a temporary moratorium on the issuance of new business licenses, authored by Rep. J. West. DORMANT

HB 3734: Adjusts licensing procedures for OMMA to issue temporary business licenses to prospective applicants before issuing final approval and an annual license, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. DID NOT PASS

SB 522: Requires the OMMA to contract with third-party vendors to provide licensing services beginning in 2024, authored by Sen. Taylor and Rep. Echols. DORMANT

SB 1704: Requires all employees of medical marijuana businesses to apply for a badge/credential beginning Jan. 1, 2024, and allows OMMA to contract with a third party to provide those services. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. (Aso listed in the Enforcement section.) SIGNED

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 1960: Authorizes dispensaries to deliver to patients at certain private residences, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. (Also listed in the Dispensaries and Enforcement sections.) DORMANT

HB 2244: Allows patient licenses to be issued to firefighters, authored by Rep. May. (Also listed in the Licensing section.) DORMANT

HB 3269: Adjusts certain improper possession of marijuana to a civil offense, and allows people who acquire a medical marijuana patient or caregiver license within 45 days of being cited to request penalties for carrying marijuana be vacated, authored by Rep. Mize. (Also listed in the Enforcement section.) DORMANT

HB 3699: Provides a sales tax exemption on medical marijuana purchases for honorably discharged veterans, authored by Rep. McDugle. DORMANT

SB 442: Provides that no one holding a valid patient license be denied a handgun license if otherwise qualified, authored by Sen. Dahm and Rep. S. Roberts. DORMANT

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 1960: Authorizes dispensaries to deliver to patients at certain private residences, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. (Also listed in the Dispensaries and Patients sections.) DORMANT

HB 2301: Prohibits smoking tobacco, vapor or marijuana products in public parks, authored by Rep. Roberts. DORMANT

HB 3269: Adjusts certain improper possession of marijuana to a civil offense, and allows people who acquire a medical marijuana patient or caregiver license within 45 days of being cited to request penalties for carrying marijuana be vacated, authored by Rep. Mize. (Also listed in the Patients section.) DORMANT

HB 3530: Directs OMMA to establish programs and provide funding to support county sheriff enforcement of medical marijuana laws and regulations, authored by Rep. D. Hardin and Sen. Weaver. (Also listed in the OMMA section.) SIGNED

HB 3728: Removes various prohibited actions and non-criminal penalties associated with improper activity by medical marijuana businesses, authored by Rep. J. West. DORMANT

HB 3739: Directs the OMMA and OSDH to establish rules to allow enforcement against nuisance odors created by medical marijuana industry operations, authored by Rep. Bashore. (Also listed in the OMMA section.) DORMANT

HB 3754: Creates the Oklahoma Adult Access to Marijuana Act, providing rules and standards for decriminalization and limited sale of marijuana products to anyone age 21+, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. DORMANT

HB 3971: By Jan. 1, 2024, OMMA must create a “secret shopper” program by rule promulgation to purchase medical marijuana in dispensaries and send samples for testing, authored by Rep. Burns. (Also listed in Labs and Testing section.) SIGNED

SB 1367: Enhances penalties for the unlawful diversion of medical marijuana products to someone not legally allowed to acquire or consume them, authored by Sen. Paxton. SIGNED

SB 1704: Requires all employees of medical marijuana businesses to apply for a badge/credential beginning Jan. 1, 2024, and allows OMMA to contract with a third party to provide those services. Effective Nov. 1, 2022. Authored by Sen. Paxton. SIGNED

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 3208: Places a moratorium on new business licenses between Aug. 1, 2022, and Aug. 1, 2024, authored by Rep. Cornwell. (Also listed in the Licesning section.) SIGNED

HB 3530: Directs OMMA to establish programs and provide funding to support county sheriff enforcement of medical marijuana laws and regulations, authored by Rep. D. Hardin and Sen. Weaver. (Also listed in the Enforcement section.) SIGNED

HB 3739: Directs the OMMA and OSDH to establish rules to allow enforcement against nuisance odors created by medical marijuana industry operations, authored by Rep. Bashore. (Also listed in the Enforcement section.) DORMANT

HB 3813: Expands the power and responsibilities of OMMA and its employees to include various enforcement measures, authored by Rep. Stinson. DID NOT PASS

HB 3929: By Jan. 1, 2024, OMMA must promulgate rules to create a process validation program in which licensees may voluntarily participate. Effective immediately. Authored by Rep. Pfeiffer. SIGNED

HB 3997: Allows the OMMA to form an internal training and certification program for compliance inspectors, authored by Rep. Dobrinski. DORMANT

HB 4055: Directs public utilities to report certain usage information by medical marijuana industry operations, an directs the OMMA to track and monitor non-utility usage, authored by Rep. Marti. DID NOT PASS

HB 4081: Repeals Section 5 Chapter 553, O.S.L. 2021, related to OMMA staffing, authored by Rep. Wallace. DORMANT

HB 4202: Separates the OMMA from OSDH, authored by Rep. Echols. DORMANT

SB 1543: Establishes the OMMA independent from OSDH, authored by Sen. Treat. SIGNED

SB 1802: Provides statutory cleanup across multiple versions of statutes, authored by Sen. Howard. DORMANT

SB 1841: Directs the OMMA to suspend or revoke the license of any business in violation of any regulation established by state agencies or statutes for more than 30 days after receiving a notice of their violation, authored by Sen. Paxton. (Also listed in the All Commercial Licenses section.) DID NOT PASS

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 2179: Prohibits veterinarians from making recommendations for medical marijuana products to be used on animal patients, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. DORMANT

HB 3319: Allows the boards of nursing, osteopathic examiners, and medical licensure and supervision to grant a health care provider a temporary license when an emergency has been declared by certain entities, authored by Rep. Miller. SIGNED

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 3019: Adjusts packaging standards to allow clear packaging, but requiring opaque exit packaging for carrying out of the dispensary, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. SIGNED

HB 4287: Creates the Oklahoma Flower Pre-Packaging Act, which requires medical marijuana products to be packaged and sold in certain pre-packaged quantities and forms, authored by Rep. Davis and Sen. Paxton. DID NOT PASS

SB 1219: Directs that all containers for edibles be see-through, and that all edibles be in the shape of a marijuana leaf, authored by Sen. Bullard. DID NOT PASS

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • In Conference: Different versions of these bills passed in each legislative chamber. Legislators from each chamber will discuss ways to reconcile those differences. If the legislators reach an agreement, each chamber would have an opportunity to vote on any changes since they originally passed it. Bills making it all the way through this process are then sent to the Governor for consideration.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

HB 1961: Creates the Adult Access to Marijuana Act, directing a statewide ballot measure on public marijuana use for anyone age 21+, authored by Rep. Fetgatter. DORMANT

HB 2004: Clarifies OMMA licensing duties and functions, authored by Rep. Fetgatter and Sen. Rogers. DORMANT

HB 2812: Prohibits currency for purchases of medical marijuana, instead using performance bonds or other sureties approved by the Insurance Commissioner, authored by Rep. Sneed. DORMANT

HB 3268: Permits publicly traded companies to buy up to 100% of the equity of a licensed grower, processor or transporter, authored by Rep. Mize. DORMANT

HB 3279: Creates the Oklahoma Distributed Ledger Technology Assets Offering Act, which directs and regulates the use of blockchain-driven data security technology and cryptocurrency in various facets of state government, authored by Rep. Humphrey. DID NOT PASS

SB 1665: Creates a Low Income Adult Medicaid Fund to be used by the Health Care Authority to provide medical assistance to low-income adults, authored by Sen. Murdock. DORMANT

Definitions for the listed status:

  • Dormant: These bills were not referred out of the committees in their originating legislative chamber. These bills will not be heard this session, unless the Legislature takes an action to change the status.
  • In the House: A committee passed the bill to the full House of Representatives for consideration. House Bills (prefixed with an HB) must still be considered by the Senate if they pass the House.
  • In the Senate: A committee passed the bill to the full Senate for consideration. Senate Bills (prefixed with an SB) must still be considered by the House of Representatives if they pass the Senate.
  • Failed: The House of Representatives or Senate voted to reject the bill.
  • To the Governor: The full House of Representatives and Senate each voted to pass the bill. It is under consideration by the Governor and will become law if he signs it.
  • Signed: The Legislature passed the bill, and the Governor signed it. It will become law on its listed effective date.
  • Did Not Pass: The bill passed one house of the Legislature, but not both, before the legislative session ended May 27.

Media Contact

Porsha Riley
Public Information Officer
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority
Porsha.Riley@health.ok.gov

Last Modified on Oct 24, 2022
Back to Top