Skip to main content

UPDATE: OMMA has been informed the issue regarding some commercial licenses not appearing in OMMA Verify has been resolved for most licensees. The licensing vendor continues to work on fully resolving the issue. Check here for updates.

Employee Credentialing

UPDATES:

We’re seeing a large number of Employee Credential applications that must be denied because they were submitted without the fully completed Attestation Regarding National Background Check. This form is in addition to the valid OSBI name-based background check. Both must be included in the application. 

If your Employee Credential application was denied and you would like to re-apply, log back in to the licensing portal to begin a new application with all required documentation. 

--

People who already work for a medical marijuana business and applied for an employee credential on or before Feb. 29, 2024, may keep working while that application is pending. 

People, including new hires, who did not apply for an employee credential on or before Feb. 29, 2024, cannot work until receiving the approved employee credential.

People who are interested in working at a licensed medical marijuana business may consider applying for the credential now to prepare to start work once hired.

If your business is experiencing a hardship because you have job candidates ready to work who are uncredentialed, visit omma.ok.gov/contact to contact OMMA.


Senate Bill 1704 (2022), a new state law passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, requires employees of licensed medical marijuana businesses to apply for and receive a credential.

Employee is defined in OMMA Rules at OAC 442:10-5-1.1(13).

The credential authorizes the employee to work at a licensed medical marijuana business. 

See OAC 442:10-5-1.1(13) in OMMA Rules and 63 O.S. § 427.14b (OSCN 2023) in state statutes.


Quick Links


Apply for an Employee Credential

Log in to the Thentia licensing portal to apply for an Oklahoma medical marijuana business employee credential.


Credential Application Requirements

When you log in to the Thentia licensing portal to apply for a medical marijuana business employee credential, you will be asked to provide:


FAQs for Employees

A medical marijuana business employee credential is required by a new state law — SB 1704 (2022), passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor. Employees of licensed medical marijuana businesses must receive the credential. 

See OAC 442:10-5-1.1(13) in OMMA Rules and 63 O.S. § 427.14b (OSCN 2023) in state statutes.

See OAC 442:10-5-1.1(13) in OMMA Rules for information about who is considered a medical marijuana business employee for purposes of credentialing.

Log in to the Thentia licensing portal to begin your application. If approved, OMMA will mail the credential to the address provided in the application.

People who already work for a medical marijuana business and applied for an employee credential on or before Feb. 29, 2024, may keep working while OMMA reviews their credential application. 

People, including new hires, who did not apply for an employee credential on or before Feb. 29, 2024, cannot work until receiving the approved employee credential.

People who are interesed in working at a licensed medical marijuana business may consider applying for the credential now to prepare to start work once hired.

The employee credential application fee is $30, plus a processing fee of $2.72 if you pay with a credit/debit card or $1 if you pay by electronic check.

Renewal applications, updated credentials and replacement credentials will also have an application fee of $30, plus a processing fee of $2.72 if you pay with a credit/debit card or $1 if you pay by electronic check. 

The fee is $15 for an Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) name-based background check.

The credential is similar to a badge. OMMA will mail the credential after approval of an application. The credential number and details will also be shown on your profile in the licensing portal.

Credentials will be valid until Jan. 31 of the following year. 

A name-based Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) background check is required for the application. It must be dated within 30 days of the application date.

Within the application, applicants will be directed to the OSBI to complete the background check. Applicants must submit the completed background check along with a completed Attestation Regarding National Background Check to be able to finish the application. 

The attestation form and the name-based OSBI background check will temporarily meet the national background check requirement included in a new state law, House Bill 2095 (2023).

No. Applicants may submit government-issued photo IDs.

No. You must create a profile in the credential portal for a credential application. You may use the same email address to create a new profile in the credential portal. If you started or submitted a credential application in the commercial portal, you will be able to locate it in the credential portal.

Visit omma.ok.gov/contact to get in touch.


FAQs for Businesses

A medical marijuana business employee credential is required by a new state law — SB 1704 (2022), passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor. All employees of licensed medical marijuana businesses must apply for the credential. 

See OAC 442:10-5-1.1(13) in OMMA Rules and 63 O.S. § 427.14b (OSCN 2023) in state statutes.

See OAC 442:10-5-1.1(13) in OMMA Rules for information about who is considered a medical marijuana business employee for purposes of credentialing.

People who already work for a medical marijuana business and applied for an employee credential on or before Feb. 29, 2024, may keep working while OMMA reviews their credential application. 

People, including new hires, who did not apply for an employee credential on or before Feb. 29, 2024, cannot work until receiving the approved employee credential.

People who are interesed in working at a licensed medical marijuana business may consider applying for the credential now to prepare to start work once hired.

If your business is experiencing a hardship because you have job candidates ready to work who are uncredentialed, visit omma.ok.gov/contact to contact OMMA.

The credential is similar to a badge. OMMA will mail the credential after approval of an application. The credential number and details will also be shown on the applicant's profile in the licensing portal.

Use OMMA Verify at ommaverify.ok.gov to check a credential's validity.

Licensed medical marijuana businesses are required to ensure  their employees have a valid credential or pending credential application.

Employees must apply for, or get help with, a credential on their own. It's the employee's responsibility to apply for the credential. The employer may request to see the confirmation email sent to the employee once the employee has applied. 

Employees will receive a confirmation email once they submit their application. The employer may request to see the confirmation email.

Visit omma.ok.gov/contact to get in touch.


Resources


Contact Us

If you have any questions regarding medical marijuana business employee credentialing, visit omma.ok.gov/contact to get in touch.

You may find rule citations on this page helpful. For a more comprehensive understanding, review all OMMA Rules at omma.ok.gov/rules. If you have questions about the rules, OMMA encourages you to seek legal counsel.

Last Modified on Apr 15, 2024