Skip to main content

Licensed Genetic Counselors Program

Our mission is to protect the public by promoting and enforcing laws and regulations which govern the practice of Licensed Genetic Counselors (LGC).

For LPC, LMFT or LBP licensures, please visit the Oklahoma State Board of Behavioral Health

All LGC licensees must be periodically renewed to maintain their active status. It is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure their license remains current.

Full licensees who have not renewed after one (1) year since the expiration of their license must re-apply for licensure as though they had never been licensed.

  • Full Licensees: Expire two (2) years from end of first month of issue and every two years thereafter.
  • Temporary Licensees: Expire thirty (30) days after failure of national certification exam.

OSDH will send reminders to expiring licensees at their last known email address 45-60 days ahead of expiration. However, be aware that non-receipt of a renewal reminder does not stop expiration of a license or assessment of a late fee.

Regardless of whether a notification reminder is received, a licensee can renew by submitting the following:

  • Completed Continuing Education showing thirty (30) clock hours completed in the previous two-year cycle.
  • Documentation of completed continuing education (certificates, meeting agendas, etc.)
  • Fee: $200.00 by date of expiration; $225.00 up to one (1) year following expiration.
  • Any change in licensee personal/contact information.

If a temporary license holder does not pass the national certification exam on their first attempt, they may apply for one (1) additional temporary license for use while waiting for their second attempt.

If all required materials and fees are received, a new license will be sent to the licensee.

Maintaining up-to-date personal and contact information is crucial to being able to receive notifications, certificates, and other documentation regarding your license.

If any of your personal or contact information (such as an email address or name change) needs to be updated, please email:

If you are requesting a name change, you must submit a copy of the legal document facilitating the name change (such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree) with your request.

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Consumer Health Service
P.O. Box 268815
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8815

Physical Address:
Oklahoma State Department of Health
123 Robert S. Kerr Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK

Phone: (405) 426-8250
Fax: (405) 900-7557