- CDL Specific
REAL ID is a coordinated effort by the states and the federal government to improve the reliability and accuracy of state-issued identification documents.
You will only need a REAL ID if you plan to fly domestically, enter a federal facility or a nuclear facility. However, if you have a passport, Department of Defense ID or other compliant REAL ID and do not plan to fly or visit any federal or nuclear facilities, then you do not need a REAL ID.
First, you will need to provide proof of identity/lawful presence by providing one document such as a birth certificate or unexpired permanent resident card. You will also need one proof of your Social Security number and two proofs of residency. After you have collected those documents, you will need to find a Department of Public Safety location or tag agency that is actively issuing REAL ID. You can find the document checklist here and the list of participating locations here. Go to your local DPS facility or tag agent to apply for your REAL ID and you will leave the location with a temporary paper ID. Your REAL ID will then be mailed to you..
Department of Public Safety offices and select tag agencies across the state will be issuing REAL IDs beginning July 1st, 2020, with statewide implementation rolling out throughout the late summer and fall. View our convenient map for a live listing of participating locations.
You can visit your local Social Security office to obtain a Social Security card.
You can request a new birth certificate by visiting the Oklahoma State Department of Health or by downloading the myOklahoma mobile phone application.
You will need to bring one document from the following list for every name change:
- An official government-issued marriage certificate/license
- Court ordered or legal name change document(s)
- A court ordered divorce decree
- A legal adoption paperwork
- A government-issued death certificate of spouse which includes a connection to your current full legal name.
No, there will not be a background check to obtain a REAL ID. Submitted documents will only be verified to ensure legitimacy.
Beginning May 3, 2023, every state and territory resident will need to present a REAL ID compliant license/ID or another acceptable form of identification, to board a commercial aircraft, access and enter federal facilities or nuclear power plants. The ID must be REAL ID compliant unless the resident is using an alternative acceptable document such as a passport or passport card.
You do not need a REAL ID driver’s license or identification card to drive, vote, apply for or receive federal benefits, enter a federal facility that does not require an ID like a post office, access a hospital or participate in law enforcement proceedings or investigations.
To obtain a first time REAL ID driver license in Oklahoma, it is $42.50, to renew it is $38.50 and to replace one it is $25. If you are over the age of 62, you will be charged a prorated fee for a REAL ID driver license until you are 65. View full pricing info here.
No, you will not be charged for your REAL ID.
Your REAL ID is valid for four years.
Unfortunately, no. If you are within a year of your current license expiring, you can renew your license for the $38.50 renewal fee for a Class D license. If you are not within a year of your license expiring, you can get a replacement DL or ID, which costs $25.
The final enforcement deadline is May 3, 2023. By this date, all states must be issuing REAL ID compliant licenses or IDs. Oklahomans who choose to get a REAL ID need to visit a Department of Public Safety location or tag agency to obtain a REAL ID compliant card before this date to allow enough time for the REAL ID to be sent via mail.
REAL ID compliant cards have a gold star in the upper right-hand corner of the card. If the card does not have one of these markings, it is not REAL ID compliant and won’t be accepted as proof of identity.
Oklahomans will have the option of getting a non REAL ID compliant driver license or identification card. In place of the star, it will be marked with the words “Not for REAL ID purposes.”
No. TSA does not require minors under 18 to provide identification when traveling with a companion within the United States. The companion will need REAL ID compliant identification.
If you are traveling internationally you will still need your passport. If you are traveling domestically, you will only need one REAL ID compliant form of identification – either your REAL ID or another acceptable alternative such as a passport, not both.
No. REAL ID cannot be used for border crossings into Canada, Mexico or other international travel. You will need a passport for international travel.
No, the Mobile ID is not REAL ID compliant.
Yes, Department of Defense issued IDs are accepted forms of ID and can be used as a REAL ID.
Yes, you can obtain one upon returning to Oklahoma from your station. Your Department of Defense ID will permit you to travel domestically should you need to travel.
No, you will still be permitted to perform federal Jury Duty without a REAL ID.
No. REAL ID is a national set of standards, not a national identification card. REAL ID does not create a federal database of driver license information. Each jurisdiction continues to issue its own unique license, maintain its own records and control who gets access to those records and under what circumstances. The purpose of REAL ID is to make our identity documents more consistent and secure.
No, unless there has been a change of name or address.
For a first-time issuance, Class A is $81.50, Class B is $76.50 and Class C is $66.50.
For a renewal, Class A and Class B are $56.50 and Class C Is $46.50. It is $25.00 to renew all CDL driver licenses.
It costs $25 to get the hazmat endorsement.
Yes, a valid, unexpired TWIC care is currently on TSA’s list of acceptable identification.
Yes, this is a valid ID for the renewal of a CDL.
If you do not plan to fly domestically, visit a federal facility or any other location where a REAL ID is needed, then you do not have to get a REAL ID. Therefore, you would not have to wait to get your endorsement. However, if you do plan to get the REAL ID and your current CDL license is not expiring before July 1, you could wait until REAL IDs are issued.
Disclaimer: Contact the Department of Public Safety (DPS) if you have questions about or need assistance with the documents required to obtain a REAL ID. DPS reserves the right to reject unverifiable documents, request additional documents and investigate documents presented.