OKLAHOMA BOARD OF NURSING 2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106

(405) 962-1800

FORMULARY ADVISORY COUNCIL Minutes – August 9, 2018

The Formulary Advisory Council to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing met on August 9, 2018. Written notice of the meeting was filed with the Secretary of State's Office on December 12, 2017. Notice was posted on the Oklahoma Board of Nursing web site. A notice agenda was also posted on the Cameron Building front entrance at 2915 North Classen Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, as well as the Board office, Suite 524, July 25, 2018 and not less than 24 hours prior to the meeting.

Place of Meeting: Basement Conference Room, Cameron Building

Time of Meeting: 2:30 PM

Members Present:

Tim Anderson, DPh
Harold Ginzburg, MD, JD, MPH
Coklahoma State Medical Association
Oklahoma State Medical Association
Oklahoma Board of Nursing
Oklahoma Pharmacists Association
Oklahoma Pharmacists Association
Oklahoma State Osteopathic Assoc.
Oklahoma Pharmacists Association
Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Members Absent:

Mary Jane Fry, DPh

Deborah Booton-Hiser, APRN-CNP, PhD

Edward Legako, MD

Susan Jones, APRN- CNS

Dana Stone, MD

Oklahoma Pharmacists Association

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Oklahoma State Medical Association

Guests:

Jacoby Gray Southwestern Oklahoma State
University Pharmacy Student

Kaili Meadows Southwestern Oklahoma State
University Pharmacy Resident

Southwestern Oklahoma State University Pharmacy Student

Caleb Sturtz

Board Staff Representative:

Jackye Ward, MS, RN Gina Stafford, BSN, RN

- **1.0** Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by J. Kinnard, Vice Chairperson, at 2:35 PM.
 - 1.1 Declaration of quorum: A quorum was declared present.
 - 1.2 Role of the Council: J. Kinnard defined the role of the Council.
- 2.0 Council decision regarding approval of council meeting minutes for July 31,2017: It was moved (H. Ginzburg) and seconded to approve the minutes of July 31, 2017.

Voting:

Yes: (7) T. Anderson, L. Harkess, H. Ginzburg, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball

No: (0)

Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

3.0 Verbal reports requiring no action by committee:

- 3.1 Changes to the *Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act*: J. Ward summarized changes related to the *Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act* which will become effective November 1, 2018.
- 3.2 Review of revisions of the Rules of the Board: J. Ward summarized changes to the Rules of the Oklahoma Board of Nursing submitted for legislative approval. The Rules will become effective on September 14, 2018.
- 3.3 Update on the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC): J. Ward provided an update on the eNLC reporting the Agency has processed over 3,000 multistate applications since the implementation date for the eNLC.
- **3.4 FAC member expiration dates**: G. Stafford reported the membership terms will expire for Dr. Holsey, Robin Kimball-Potter and T. Anderson prior to the next meeting. A notification will be sent to the appropriate associations for the appointment of a representatives.

3.5 No item

3.6 Update regarding the Comprehensive Addiction* Recovery Act: G. Stafford provided information on the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA). CARA does not use the title "Advanced Practice"

Registered Nurse (APRN)". Therefore, Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS), Certified Nurse Midwives (CNM) and Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) are not addressed in CARA. Currently, there is a bill moving through the United States législative process that does include the roles of CNS, CNM and CRNA. If approved, each APRN role may be included in CARA. In addition, the bill calls to increase the time frame for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses and Physician Assistants prescribing treatment from the year 2021 to 2023.

- **3.7 Other reports:** G. Stafford reviewed the changes to the *Rapid Sequence Intubation Guidelines*, which were approved by the Board at the July 2018 meeting.
- **3.8** Passage of State Question 788: G. Stafford provided information regarding the Emergency *Rules* located on the Oklahoma State Department of Health website.
- 4.0 Review and recommendations to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing on the Exclusionary Formulary for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses with Prescriptive Authority, #P-50B:
 - **Discussion regarding new drugs**: G. Stafford reported the process for reviewing the *Exclusionary Formulary*. Review included all new drugs assigned classification in the 2017 American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information Book since the last meeting, July 31, 2017; and review of all new drugs in the 2018 American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information Book up until this meeting date. The council reviewed the drug lists; there was discussion regarding Clorotekal, a new drug. The council determined Clorotekal did not need to be placed on the Exclusionary Formulary. The Exclusionary Formulary authorizes for APRNs to prescribe in accordance with their scope of practice.
 - **Recommendations:** There were no recommendations for changes to the Exclusionary Formulary.

It was moved (R. Potter-Kimball) and seconded to move the *Exclusionary Formulary* without revisions forward to the Board for approval

Voting:

Yes: (7) T. Anderson, H. Ginzburg, L. Harkess, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball

No: (0)

Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

5.0 Review and recommendations to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing on the Formulary Advisory Council Procedure for Amending the Formulary, #P-50: A motion was made (J. Kinnard) and seconded to send the Request to Amend the Formulary without changes to the Board for approval.

Voting:

- Yes: (7) T. Anderson, H. Ginzburg, L. Harkess, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball
- No: (0)
- Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

- 6.0 Council decision regarding election of chairperson and vice-chairperson:
 - 6.1 Motion made (J. Kinnard) and seconded that D. Booton-Hiser serve as Chairperson.

Voting:

- Yes: (7) T. Anderson, H. Ginzburg, L. Harkess, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball
- No: (0)
- Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

6.2 Motion made (R. Potter-Kimball) and seconded that J. Kinnard serve as Vice Chairman

Voting:

- Yes: (7) T. Anderson, H. Ginzburg, L. Harkess, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball
- No: (0)
- Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

7.0 Date for next meeting: Motion made (J. Kinnard) and seconded for the next meeting date for the Formulary Advisory Council to be set for Thursday, August 8, 2019, at 2:30 PM.

Voting:

- Yes: (7) T. Anderson, H. Ginzburg, L. Harkess, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball
- No: (0)
- Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

8.0 Adjournment: There being no further business, a motion was made for adjournment (R. Potter-Kimball) and seconded. The meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.

Voting:

- Yes: (7) T. Anderson, H. Ginzburg, L. Harkess, M. Hix, R. Holsey, J. Kinnard, R. Potter-Kimball
- No: (0)
- Absent: (5) M. Fry, D. Booton-Hiser, S. Jones, E. Legako, D. Stone

Motion carried.

^{*}Correction Scrivener's error-Addiction replaces Action