

Oklahoma State Department of Health Creating a State of Health

East Central (4) Regional Trauma Advisory Board (RTAB)
REGULAR MEETING
Thursday, November 16th, 2023 - 1:00 pm

Location of Meeting: Saint Francis Hospital Muskogee 300 Rockefeller Drive • Muskogee, OK 74401

The Northeast Regional Trauma Advisory Board regular meeting notice was posed on the OSDH website located at https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/trauma-division/rtabs-regional-trauma-advisory-boards-/region-4-rtab.html as well as the Secretary of State's website located at https://www.sos.ok.gov/meetings/notices/001301/0569572211210925.htm on 11/14/22.

MINUTES

- 1. Dr. James Campbell, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:02 pm.
- 2. No introductions at this time.
- 3. Roll call was taken. Attendance was recorded as follows:

Present at Roll Call	Absent at Roll Call
Mike Skaggs proxy for Korey Langston	Bristow Medical Center
Dr. James Campbell	Checotah EMS
Alan Adams	Cherokee Naton WW Hasting Hospital
Tricia Fleming	Cornerstone Hospital of Oklahoma
Sommer Thompson	Coweta Fire Department/EMS
Mike Cates	Drumright Regional Hospital
Jennifer Thompson	Haskell County Community Hospital
Seth Martson	Hastings EMS
Steven Shoup	Mannford Ambulance Service
Sherrie McKeown	Mercy Life Line 4
Jeff Jackson	Tulsa Life Flight 5 – Okmulgee
Jeff Jackson	Tulsa Life Flight 5 – Pryor Substation
Sam Murray	
Michael Ford	
Ozalena Martinez	
James Nichols	
Michelle Cruz	

4. Alan Adams made a motion to approve the August 17th, 2023 minutes and seconded by Mike Cates. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		
Alan Adams		
Tricia Fleming		
Sommer Thompson		
Mike Cates		
Jennifer Thompson		



Seth Martson	
--------------	--

5. Reports

- Lori Strider informed the committee reported the updated process for initial ambulance surveys is on the OSDH website. Also, routine agency inspections are currently being conducted.
- Xana Howard updates on Trauma Fund, Trauma Registry and Research along with Compliance, Data Accuracy and Quality.
- Dr. James Campbell informed the committee that they did a State-wide CQI meeting. They reviewed 38 cases and if you received a letter please respond. The letters are non-punitive, they are for educational purposes.
- Mark Forrest informed the committee that RPC meet earlier today. The committee discussed, Anti-Venom Plan, STEMI Plan, Surgical Extraction Plan, and feedback to EMS from hospitals. The committee is having a special meeting January 18th 2024.
- Sam Murray informed the committee that the MERC was called to Muskogee High School for a
 possible chemical expose. The event turned out to be non-hazardous. They are now planning the
 April 4th 2024 solar eclipse event.
- 6. Jennifer Thompson asked the committee what terminology they would like to be added to EMResource for stroke. The committee discussed numerous wordings. Jennifer will take the comments back to OSSSAC at their next meeting.
- 7. Sarah Connally informed the committee that they are focusing on Pediatric Emergency Care Coordinator (PECC). It is recommended by numerous organizations for each hospital to have a PECC within their agency. If an agency wants more information, they are to contact her.

8. Business

- Mike Young via phone informed the committee of the changes for NREMT recertification.
- Alan Adams made a motion to approve the 2024 Board Members and seconded by Sommer Thompson. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		
Alan Adams		
Tricia Fleming		
Sommer Thompson		
Mike Cates		
Jennifer Thompson		
Seth Martson		

 Mike Cates made a motion to approve the 2024 RPC committee members and seconded by Alan Adams. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		
Alan Adams		
Tricia Fleming		
Sommer Thompson		
Mike Cates		
Jennifer Thompson		
Seth Martson		



• Tricia Fleming made a motion to approve the 2024 CQI committee members and seconded by Alan Adams. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		
Alan Adams		
Tricia Fleming		
Sommer Thompson		
Mike Cates		
Jennifer Thompson		
Seth Martson		

• Alan Adams made a motion to approve the 2024 Officers and seconded by Sommer Thompson. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		
Alan Adams		
Tricia Fleming		
Sommer Thompson		
Mike Cates		
Jennifer Thompson		
Seth Martson		

• Alan Adams made a motion to approve the 2024 meeting dates, times and location and seconded by Sommer Thompson. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		
Alan Adams		
Tricia Fleming		
Sommer Thompson		
Mike Cates		
Jennifer Thompson		
Seth Martson		

- 9. Planning discussion topics
 - Dr. James Campbell reminded the committee of the goals that RPC is working on.
 - Allie Friesen not present.
- 10. No new business
- 11. Future meeting dates for 2023:
 - February 22, 2024, at 1:00 pm
- 12. No public comment
- 13. Aland Adams made a motion to adjourn and seconded by Sommer Thompson at 1:53 pm. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Mike Skaggs		
Dr. James Campbell		



Alan Adams	
Tricia Fleming	
Sommer Thompson	
Mike Cates	
Jennifer Thompson	
Seth Martson	