

Oklahoma State Department of Health Creating a State of Health

Northeast (2) Regional Trauma Advisory Board

REGULAR MEETING

Tuesday, November 14, 2023 - 1:00 pm

Location of Meeting: Jane Phillips Medical Center 3500 East Frank Phillis Blvd • Bartlesville, OK 74406

The Northeast Regional Trauma Advisory Board regular meeting notice was posed on the OSDH website located at https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/trauma-division/rtabs-regional-trauma-advisory-boards-/region-2-rtab.html as well as the Secretary of State's website located at https://www.sos.ok.gov/meetings/legacy/search.aspx on 11/14/22.

MINUTES

- 1. Carson Combest, called the meeting to order at 1:02 pm.
- 2. Roll Call was taken. Attendance was recorded as follows:

Present at Roll Call	Absent at Roll Call
Wayne Swift	Fairfax Community Hospital
Heidi Gilbert at 1:25 pm	Jane Phillips Medical Center, Inc
Melva Bostik	Stillwater Medical -Perry
Corey Reeves	INTEGRIS Health Ponca City
Steven Barnes	Claremore Indian Hospital
Angella Conard	Community EMS
Wilford H. Watson III	Cushing Fire Department / EMS
Kelly McCauley	Hillcrest Hospital Cushing
Kenneth Freeman	Hominy EMS
Mechele Cruz	Jay EMS
Ed Martin	MERC
Dennis Walker	Midwest AeroCare
Carson Combest	Nowata EMS
Melody Culp	Oolagah – Talala EMS District
Johnny Dobson	Pawhuska Hospital, Inc.
Air Evac Lifeteam - Claremore	Quapaw Tribe EMS
Air Evac Lifeteam – Grove	
Air Evac Lifeteam 128 – Ponca City	
Air Evac Lifeteam 4 - Springdale	
Arch – Medflight 1 Joplin	
Arch – Medflight 2 Nevada	
Blackwell Fire Department / EMS	
Freeman Hospital (Joplin)	
Hillcrest Hospital Pryor	
Integris Grove Hospital	
Integris Miami Hospital	
Mayes Emergency Services Trust	
Medflight of Oklahoma	
Mercy Hospital - Joplin	



Mercy Lifeline	
Newkirk Fire Department / EMS	
Perry Fire Department / EMS	
RMRS	
Shilder Fire Department / EMS	
Tonkawa Fire Department / EMS	
Willow Crest Hospital	

3. No introductions and announcements

4. Wilford H Watson III moved to approve the August 8th, 2023 minutes and Steven Barnes seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Wayne Swift		
Melva Bostik		
Corey Reeves		
Steven Barnes		
Wilford H. Watson III		
Kelly McCauley		
Kenneth Freeman		
Mechele Cruz		
Dennis Walker		
Carson Combest		
Dana Scott		
Johnny Dobson		

5. Reports

- Lori Strider informed the committee that EMS and EMRA licensure surveys are due every December and renewals are every June. The agency is out doing unannounced inspections. If you are involved in EMRA's, please remind them the business hours on the surveys are important. Those hours are the hours we can come to do the unannounced inspections.
- Xana Howard updates on Trauma Fund, Trauma Registry and Research along with Compliance, Data Accuracy and Quality.
- Judy Dyke informed the committee that they did a State-wide CQI meeting. They reviewed 38 cases and if you received a letter please respond. The letters are non-punitive, they are for educational purposes.
- Judy Dyke informed the committee that RPC meet today. They reviewed the Trauma Plan, Bylaws, discussion over the Surgical Extraction Plan. The committee has goals for 2024 for revising the Trauma Plan and Stroke Plan. Also, they want to get education on OTEP with the new T3 guidelines out to the Region.
- Kristi Haris informed they have completed all their plans for the Healthcare Coalition. Their next meeting
 will be February 7th in Claremore. They are doing a full exercise on May 29th over radiological and
 chemical disaster.
- 6. Melody Bridges informed the committee that the rough draft Stroke Plans for the Regions are due by June 2024 to the OSSAC committee.
- 7. Sarah Connally informed the committee that they are focusing on Pediatric Emergency Care Coordinator (PECC). It is recommended by numerous organizations for each hospital to have a PECC within their agency. If an agency wants more information, they are to contact her.
- 8. Business



• Wilford H Watson III moved to approve the 2024 Board Members and Kenneth Freeman seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Wayne Swift		
Heidi Gilbert		
Melva Bostik		
Corey Reeves		
Steven Barnes		
Wilford H. Watson III		
Kelly McCauley		
Kenneth Freeman		
Mechele Cruz		
Dennis Walker		
Carson Combest		
Dana Scott		
Johnny Dobson		

• Wilford H Watson III moved to approve the 2024 RTAB Officers and Steven Barnes seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain	
Wayne Swift			
Heidi Gilbert			
Melva Bostik			
Corey Reeves			
Steven Barnes			
Wilford H. Watson III			
Kelly McCauley			
Kenneth Freeman			
Mechele Cruz			
Dennis Walker			
Carson Combest			
Dana Scott			
Johnny Dobson			

• Dennis Walker moved to approve the RPC committee members and Wilford H Watson III seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain	
Wayne Swift			
Heidi Gilbert			
Melva Bostik			
Corey Reeves			
Steven Barnes			
Wilford H. Watson III			
Kelly McCauley			
Kenneth Freeman			
Mechele Cruz			
Dennis Walker			
Carson Combest			
Dana Scott			
Johnny Dobson			

• Carson Combest moved to approve the CQI committee members and Dennis Walker seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Wayne Swift		
Heidi Gilbert		



Melva Bostik	
Corey Reeves	
Steven Barnes	
Wilford H. Watson III	
Kelly McCauley	
Kenneth Freeman	
Mechele Cruz	
Dennis Walker	
Carson Combest	
Dana Scott	
Johnny Dobson	

• Wilford H Watson III moved to approve the 2024 RTAB meeting dates, times, and location and Carson Combest seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Wayne Swift		
Heidi Gilbert		
Melva Bostik		
Corey Reeves		
Steven Barnes		
Wilford H. Watson III		
Kelly McCauley		
Kenneth Freeman		
Mechele Cruz		
Dennis Walker		
Carson Combest		
Dana Scott		
Johnny Dobson		

9. Planning discussion topics

- Lori Strider and Jamie Lee led a break-out session. They went over a few samples' trauma cases that CQI sees often. They walked the committee through of what CQI does to prepare the cases for the committee to see. They also asked the committee to find the issues in the cases and how they would respond to the committee if they received a letter from CQI.
- Heidi Gilbert reminded the committee that RPC has and asked if any members had an idea for the RTAB. No suggestions were made. She informed the committee if they do come up with an idea to email them to Lori Strider
- Alie Friesen not present.
- 10. No new business.
- 11. Future meeting dates for 2024:
 - February 13, 2024 1:00 pm Pawhuska Community Center
- 12. No public comment.
- 13. Carson Combest made a motion to adjourn and seconded by Wilford H. Watson III at 2:21 pm. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Wayne Swift		
Heidi Gilbert		
Melva Bostik		
Corey Reeves		
Steven Barnes		
Wilford H. Watson III		
Kelly McCauley		



Kenneth Freeman	
Mechele Cruz	
Dennis Walker	
Carson Combest	
Dana Scott	
Johnny Dobson	